The Antioch Writers’ Workshop (AWW) was initiated by Antioch College, which put out a call for ideas on ways to use the campus effectively in the summer. Two retired professors, Judson Jerome, a well-known poet, and William Baker, an experienced college administrator, dean, and teacher, answered the call in 1986 and began the AWW. From the beginning, the workshop created a community of writers who mingled faculty and students informally throughout the day as well as during classes and seminars. Our mission was to encourage good writing, and we organized a summer week-long workshop as well as (in some years) a one-day fall workshop.

In 1991, a group formed a board of trustees and reorganized to sponsor the summer AWW using the college as fiscal agent; then in 1993, formed its own 501(C)(3) nonprofit entity. AWW has brought many well-known and talented writers to Ohio over the years, including Sue Grafton, Ellen Gilchrist, William Least Heat-Moon, Joyce Carol Oates, Melissa Fay Greene, Natalie Goldberg, Sena Jeter Naslund, and Nicholas Delbanco. AWW has also highlighted prominent Ohio authors, including Allan W. Eckert, John Jakes, and Virginia Hamilton.

Starting in 2009, AWW is presented in partnership with Antioch University Midwest (AUM).

AWW Keynote Speakers
1986—John Frederick Nims
1987—Judson Jerome
1988—Mark Harris
1989—Allan W. Eckert
1990—Ellen Gilchrist
1991—William Zinsser
1992—William Least Heat-Moon
1993—Joyce Carol Oates
1994—John Jakes
1995—Sue Grafton
1996—Virginia Hamilton
1997—Melissa Fay Greene
1998—Natalie Goldberg
1999—Ralph Keyes
2000—Linda Barnes
2001—William Least Heat-Moon
2002—Sena Jeter Naslund
2003—Nicholas Delbanco
2004—Kathy Hogan Trocheck (aka Mary Kay Andrews)
2005—Sue Grafton
2006—Larry Beinhart
2007—Elizabeth Strout
2008—Myla Goldberg
2009—Zakes Mda
2010—Sigrid Nunez
2011--Nancy Pickard
2012--John Grogan
2013--Lee Martin

Links to AWW Faculty, Present and Past:
Marie Bradby
George Bilgere
Paul Dickson
Natalie Goldberg
Sue Grafton
Silas House
Lynne Hugo
Robert Inman
Ralph Keyes
Katrina Kittle
Jeffrey Marks
Sena Jeter Naslund
Sigrid Nunez
Sharon Short
Kathy Trocheck (aka Mary Kay Andrews)
Crystal Wilkinson